You Mean it’s Week 3? – Coventry & Sussex

Hello everyone!

I’ve been so busy the past couple of weeks I (almost) forgot to update you all! It’s been a whirlwind, it really has. I was in Coventry for a week, and we visited a chocolate factory (Cadbury’s) and it was DELICIOUS! We also went to Harry Potter World (life = complete), and Warwick Castle! It was phenomenal.

Adjusting to being in a new country was different than I thought it would be. I don’t feel out of place per se, but it does feel different. It’s as if someone went inside my room and moved all of the bedroom furniture by 6 inches. It’s a noticeable difference, and feels different, but it’s close enough to what you’re used to, so you don’t feel uncomfortable or out of place. I guess a big part of the reason why my adjustment has been more simple is the wonderful people I’ve met.

In Coventry, everyone was so excited to meet me. My friend and his mom were great (especially his mom) and I also got to meet a ton of people at the pubs and club, and they were all way more friendly than the “British reserve” I was expecting. When I meet new people, I like to get to know them and talk to them for extended periods of time, and it seemed like they were all on the same page as well. Honestly, they were great. We even had a onesie party (which was AMAZING) and made me feel more at home than ever (probably also because I was wearing a Michigan onesie, hehe!)

In Sussex, I’m living in a flat with 5 other people, and they’re great. They’re the friendliest and coolest people I could’ve ever wished to live with, and we’re already great friends. Brighton is beautiful (and I even had Fish & Chips by the seaside!) The biggest difference between Coventry and Brighton is the activity. In Coventry there seemed to be cars, but not a whole lot going on in the town beyond that, but in Brighton I’ve had a hard time slowing myself down and resting because there are SO many activities!

Their Welcome Week vs Our Welcome Week. Where do I begin? Welcome Weeks at Sussex are nonstop, events during the day and night (some school sponsored, and some not school sponsored.) The biggest difference is the drinking culture. Everyone here is over 18, which is the drinking age, and there’s a lot of casual conversations about alcohol. It’s a way more open dialogue than I could’ve ever imagined.

The accents–I LOVE THEM. And strangely enough, they like mine too! I’ve only met a few Americans so far, but I tend to stick with the locals. There’s a few words we always laugh at the differences between–aluminum (alumeeneum), tomatoe (tomaaato), pedophile (peeedophile), and some words that I’ve begun using that I never imagined I would. For example, we might ask, “Do you think?” and they say “Do you reckon?” or  we say “I feel very (or pretty),” and they say “I feel quite…” The language differences are subtle, but they’re there. And there’s some words that we just don’t ever say (as I’m sure you’re all aware.) Probably my favorite word that I’ve been introduced to is “SOUND!” in place of “Awesome” or “Cool” or “Sick.” The list of mannerisms goes on as well, but one thing I want to make abundantly clear: THEY ARE OBSESSED WITH TEA. Repeat: This is not a drill, a little white lie, or even an exaggeration. They drink tea every morning, and it’s so adorable. I love it. And they drink it with milk! When I come back, I don’t imagine I’ll have an accent, but I may use some of their words. And you are all welcome to make lots of fun of me.

I’ve learned that their courses are probably graded more harshly than ours, which is definitely a comfort to me…In the UK the first year doesn’t get factored in the final scores for the students. Isn’t that crazy?! They just have to pass, and it’s only their 2nd and 3rd year classes that matter. That being said, I have to take 2nd and third year courses so I’m a little nervous, but I only have THREE DAYS of class. I have Thursdays-Sundays off, so there’s really no reason for me not to do well as long as I live in the library. Also, we had the University of Michigan’s equivalent of “Festifall” called “Fresher’s Fair.” I signed up for a bunch of “societies” (clubs), including the Drama Society, the Musical Theatre Society, two different choirs, the Model UN, the Political Society, the Liberal Democrats, Sketch Comedy, the Horror Movie society, and the Girl’s Rugby society. (Ha–for the record, I didn’t sign up for the Rugby team because I lost a bet.)

Tomorrow is the Brighton Pier Party where we’ll get to go on the pier and go on all of the rides! Truly, I can’t wait. Tonight will be spent buried in books, so please wish me luck, as I will need it. Sorry this post is so lengthy! I will attempt to keep you updated better in the future. Thanks again for reading!

Happy living!

Eni

Leave a comment